This site uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Are you a vegan and talented at writing? We are looking for a new content writer for our family. Earn & learn.

Are Skittles Vegan?

skittles are vegan or not

Transition to a vegan diet excludes most of the accustomed and traditional products, replacing them with plant-based alternatives and other environmentally-friendly products. Obviously, a vegan diet excludes meat, dairy, eggs, fish, and all the products that include animal-based products.

Vegan-Looking Products Are Not Vegan in Fact


But a full, thoughtful vegan diet goes much further. Not everyone knows that many vegan-looking products are not vegan in fact. Many products include hidden and never obvious traces of animal products. Artificial colorings, sugars and flavor additives are only a few of them.

Even such products as skittles, tic-tac, jellies, and other sweets could be non-vegan. Especially, if you will look deeper into their composition and analyze the origins of their ingredients.

Regarding Skittles, it is hard to give an unambiguous answer. Some ingredients are vegan, some are not and the policy of the mother company Mars cannot be called environmentally-friendly.

You would be able to define whether Skittles are vegan or not if you answer to yourself – how far are you vegan? A few nuances should be explained and analyzed in order to define whether Skittles are vegan or not.


how skittles are made

Some ingredients are not vegan, but the Mars Company had extracted them from the Skittles’ composition a few years ago. Long before, Skittles were not vegan for many reasons – it had included gelatin – a thickening agent that is made of bones and joints of cattle. This ingredient cannot be called vegan as well as few others.

Another animal-based ingredient is called cochineal – a natural coloring that is made of insects. Dried chitin is being shredded into a homogenous mass that is used for the production of red coloring. It is marked as E120 and was frequently used in Skittles’ coloring. The Mars Company had stopped its usage in 2015 during the production of Skittles but many other products contain this non-vegan ingredient.

Also, not all sugars are vegan, some of them are made of animal-based ingredients. Palm oil, which is used in the production of Skittles, negatively affects the environment, contaminating nature, taking away the land and habitat zones from wild animals.

Artificial flavors are another problem because it is nearly impossible to trace their origin. Producers don’t mention their origin and composition so there’s always a risk that you will eat a product that includes animal-based ingredients if it’s artificially flavored.

Animal Welfare

It is not a secret that corporations test their products on animals. Although the testing of products such as Skittles doesn’t harm animals so badly as the testing of cosmetics, such policy collides with the main principles of veganism which state that no animal should be exploited or harmed for the sake of goods production. Producers of Skittles do test their final products and ingredients such as flavorings and coloring on animals.

These paras prove that Skittles aren’t vegan on many levels. Although it may not contain animal-based ingredients, you cannot be totally sure that a pack of Skittles in your hand is vegan-friendly. Skittles are bad for you and for animals, so, if you’re a strict vegan, purchase and eat only organic and healthy food products and avoid such processed and factory-produced food products as Skittles.

Do you like this article?
no 0