What Do Vegetarians Can and Cannot Eat?
What Do Vegetarians Eat
Vegetarianism comes in different forms:
- Lacto-ovo-vegetarianism. These people completely abandon fish, meat, seafood. However, they eat honey, milk products, eggs.
- Lacto vegetarianism. Its adherents refuse meat, fish, seafood, and eggs, but leave dairy products and honey on the menu.
- Ovo vegetarianism. What can vegetarians eat? Such people are allowed to eat only eggs. They refuse meat, milk, fish, and seafood.
- Veganism. This is the strictest type of vegetarianism. Vegans eat only fruits and vegetables, refuse milk, eggs, and honey. In addition, they fundamentally do not wear leather clothes, things made of fur and silk.
What Can’t Vegetarians Eat
Attention! Some vegetarians are raw foodists. That is, they eat only raw dishes, do not subject the products to heat treatment. In their opinion, more nutrients remain in them.
What Don’t Vegetarians Eat: Why Do Vegetarians Give Up Meat?
These people adhere to certain principles and attitudes: do not count animals as a unit of production. These are living things that can be in pain, so you cannot use them for food. According to medical research, animal products are harmful and even hazardous to health. Vegetarianism is a contribution to saving people from hunger since a significant part of the production goes to feed livestock. The killing of animals damages the ecology and ecosystem. Unwillingness to cause suffering to someone, fear that they will return to the person. The absence of food of animal origin in the diet cleanses and frees the mind.
What Can and Can’t Vegetarians Eat
With a vegetarian diet, the body is saturated with nutrients and vitamins, including carbohydrates, omega-6 fatty acids, fiber, carotenoids, folic acid, vitamin C, vitamin E, potassium, and magnesium. Improves well-being and maintains normal weight levels with moderate intake of fatty acids, cholesterol and protein from plant-based foods.
The results of the largest studies have established that various diseases and ailments are rarer among vegetarians.
What Foods Do Vegetarians Eat: Basic Recommendations for Vegetarianism
It is best to stick to a less strict vegetarian diet, as some animal products are simply necessary for the normal functioning of the body.
Subject to strict vegetarianism, you need to include in the diet such essential nutrients as protein, fats, as well as multivitamins, and foods high in vitamins and minerals.
During pregnancy, breastfeeding, and teaching children vegetarianism, it is necessary to pay attention to the fact that the body of the mother and child also requires food of animal origin. Ignoring this factor can lead to very negative consequences.
The inclusion of honey and pollen in any quantity in the diet of strict vegetarianism will not be able to provide the body with all the necessary vitamins and minerals.
What Are Vegetarians Allowed to Eat: Substitutes for Essential Substances
Fats – contain various vegetable oils: olive, linseed, sunflower, hemp, coconut, cottonseed, corn, walnut, etc.;
Iron – the required amount is found in nuts, seeds, dried fruits, beans, and green vegetables;
Calcium and zinc – can be obtained from dairy products, as well as rich green leafy vegetables, in particular, kale, spinach and watercress, seeds, Brazilian and almonds, dried fruits, and tofu;
Omega-3 fatty acids – sources are flax seeds, various nuts, beans, and grains;
Vitamin D – the sun’s rays saturate the body with it, as well as products such as yeast, mushrooms, nettle, parsley, wheat germ, egg yolk.
What do vegetarians eat for protein? Protein can be obtained from legumes, nuts, spinach, cauliflower, kohlrabi, and wheat.
What Can Vegetarians Eat List
- legumes – soybeans, corn, peas, lentils, beans;
- vegetable-based oils;
- seaweed – kelp, spirulina, wakame, chuka;
- all kinds of nuts;
- sweets without gelatin in the composition;
- flakes, muesli, corn sticks;
- vegetables, berries, and fruits;
- dried fruits and candied fruits;
- bread, crispbread, biscuits;
- meatless sausages;
- soy dairy products.
What Do Vegetarians Eat for Breakfast
In the morning, after waking up, I recommend drinking a glass of water with lemon. It will help fill the deficiency with many vitamins and minerals, give you vigor and strength, and help improve the functioning of many-body systems.
For breakfast, it is advisable, if possible, to exclude legumes, since they are considered heavy food and are difficult to digest, thereby loading the body and begin to be digested no earlier than 10 in the morning. Although buckwheat is an exception, it can be eaten in the morning, at lunchtime, and for dinner, and light oatmeal boiled in water. I think there are some readers among the lovers of oatmeal, which is perfect for a vegetarian breakfast. By the way, I recommend seasoning oatmeal cooked in water with linseed oil, it turns out very satisfying and tasty, you can also try adding dried fruits.
Fruit is good for breakfast. In summer, it is advisable to eat fresh fruits, as they have a cooling effect on the body. Dried fruits are ideal in winter.
What Do Vegetarians Eat for Dinner
Dinner should preferably consist of protein foods and should not be very high in calories. Bean and lentil dishes are perfect for this. By the way, vegetable dishes made from lentils, unlike other legumes, are digested faster and easily absorbed by the body, so delicious and hearty lentil dishes are an excellent option for dinner. The rest of the beans, mung bean, chickpeas, and peas are best eaten for lunch.
- It is such a pleasure to see you like our article, share your thoughts!
- You didn't like it, hm? What did we do wrong?